014 Falling Into Infinity Demos


014 Falling Into Infinity Demos

2 CD

I really like the “Demos” series from Ytsejam. It’s very interesting to hear what our beloved songs sounded like when they were first conceived. In most cases the songs were better before they were torn apart by the producer(s). I am glad, however, that they removed the puking sounds from the original ending of Burning My Soul. Weird.

After listening to these older versions I found that Lines in the Sand is one of my favorite songs by DT… that is, before they added those horrid backing vocals to the studio mix. I also enjoy Hollow Years much more without the country sounding slide guitar.

The big draw to this bootleg has got to be the original raw version of Metropolis Pt 2. It’s surprising to hear how much of the original music made it into the final release and how much better Jordan is at composing music than Derek. This is truly the gem of this bootleg.

There’s so much information packed into the liner notes, you can really tell that Mike spent a lot of time working on this project. I, for one, really appreciate being able to read about each individual song in such detail.

Set List

CD 1

  1. Raise The Knife
  2. Where Are You Now?
  3. Take Away My Pain
  4. You Or Me
  5. Anna Lee
  6. Burning My Soul
  7. The Way It Used To Be
  8. Lines In The Sand

CD 2

  1. Just Let Me Breathe
  2. Peruvian Skies
  3. Trial Of Tears
  4. Cover My Eyes
  5. Hollow Years
  6. New Millennium
  7. Speak To Me

Bonus track

  1. Metropolis Pt. 2 Live and raw rehearsal version


qDT is an online catalog of original bootlegs and concert reviews of the progressive metal band Dream Theater.

Google+ Craig Erskine TXP

©1996-2019 | a project by Craig Erskine