001 When Dream and Day Reunite DVD


001 When Dream and Day Reunite DVD

Los Angeles, CA

Music Review
The audio is very well mixed and sounds incredible. John Myungs bass sound is super old school which really adds to the atmosphere.

Video Review
Of course, since this is a Ytsejam production, the video is astounding. The show is very well directed with only a couple of missed queue’s (mostly John Myung solos).

Packaging Review
Similar in design to the rest of the Ytsejam catalog. I’m not a huge fan of the font and color choices for this series but it is still better than nothing.

This DVD also features the following Special Bonus Features:

  • Audio Commentary by Dream Theater
  • WDADU 2004 rehearsal and soundcheck footage
  • “I Can Remember When…” A 70 minute documentary from the Portnoy Archives looking back at the original WDADU album. A song by song recount told through live footage and interviews with the band circa 1988/1989.

The audio commentary is really informative. I don’t think I’ve ever heard John Myung speak so much. He went off on this tangent about how the band doesn’t seem to be as close as they used to and the music reflects their lack of “band-ness”. I found this very interesting and I totally agree with most of what he said.

Set List

  1. A Fortune in Lies (5:23)
  2. Status Seeker (4:38)
  3. Ytse Jam (6:10)
  4. The Killing Hand (12:30)
  5. Light Fuse and Get Away (8:29)
  6. Afterlife (5:45)
  7. The Ones Who Help to Set the Sun (7:53)
  8. Only a Matter of Time (7:34)
  9. To Live Forever (Bonus Encore) (4:54)
  10. Metropolis (Bonus Encore) (14:20)


qDT is an online catalog of original bootlegs and concert reviews of the progressive metal band Dream Theater.

Google+ Craig Erskine TXP

©1996-2019 | a project by Craig Erskine